Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

FILA International Wrestling Hall of Fame inductees announced; Nine honored including first woman

LAUSANNE, Switzerland -- The Federation Internationale de Luttes Associees, the international Olympic governing body for the sport of wrestling, will induct its first woman ever into the International Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Canada's Christine Nordhagen-Vierling, a five-time World Champion, will join eight other international superstars-four in men's freestyle and four in Greco-Roman wrestling-as 2006 honorees in the Hall.

"On behalf of the FILA Hall of Fame Commission, I am proud to announce the nine candidates who were selected to be inducted into the International Wrestling Hall of Fame," said Larry Sciacchetano, President of the FILA Hall of Fame Commission. "This class of inductees represents an incredible 30 individual world titles and eight Olympic gold medals along with the first female wrestler to be honored."

Joining Nordhagen-Vierling in the Hall are freestyle wrestlers: Soslan Andiev, Soviet Union, two-time Olympic gold medalist and four-time World champion; Leri Chabelov, Russia, 1992 Olympic gold medalist and five-time World champion;; Il Kim, People's Republic of Korea, two-time Olympic gold medalist and World champion; and Shozo Sasahara, Japan, 1956 Olympic gold medalist and 1954 World champion.

The Greco-Roman honorees include: Frank Andersson, Sweden, four-time World champion and 1984 Olympic bronze medalist; Nikolai Balboshin, Soviet Union, five-time World Champion and 1976 Olympic gold medalist; Maik Bullman, Germany, three-time World Champion and 1992 Olympic gold medalist; and Islam Dugushiev, Azerbaijan, four-time World champion and 1992 Olympic silver medalist.

The inaugural class of the FILA International Hall of Fame was inducted in 2003 and additional honorees have been added each year since. The permanent display of International Hall of Fame honorees is housed at the Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum in Stillwater, Okla.

New members will be inducted at World Wrestling Championships on Sept. 23-Oct. 2 in Guangzhou, China. Each new member will receive an award as well as recognition in Stillwater.

Female Honoree
Christine Nordhagen-Vierling, Canada

Men's Freestyle Honorees
Soslan Andiev, Soviet Union
Leri Chabelov, Russia
Il Kim, North Korea
Shozo Sasahara, Japan

Men's Greco Roman Honorees
Frank Andersson, Swedan
Nikolai Balboshin, Soviet Union
Maik Bullmann, Germany
Islam Dugushiev, Azerbaijan

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2019 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.