Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Gable Museum announces 2014 Glen Brand HOF Class

WATERLOO, Iowa—Two former NCAA wrestling champions, a four-time Iowa high school state wrestling champion, a standout heavyweight, and a legendary coach will be inducted into the Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa on June 7, 2014. The Hall of Fame is located inside the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum.

The Class of 2014 includes Pete Bush, Joel Greenlee, Al Nacin, Mack Reiter, and Finn Eriksen (posthumously).

The Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa was established in 2002 to honor the people who have made an impact on the sport on a national level, or who have done extraordinary work in the State of Iowa. The hall recognizes native-born Iowans, and those who achieved their fame while wrestling or coaching for an Iowa school.

Pete Bush was an NCAA champion for the University of Iowa in 1982 at 190 pounds. He was also a three-time Big Ten champion (1981, 1982, and 1984). Bush is currently the head wrestling coach at Davenport Assumption where he led his team to a traditional state title in 2011 and state dual team titles in 2011, 2012, and 2013. He won an individual Iowa high school state wrestling championship for Davenport Assumption in 1979.

Joel Greenlee wrestled for the University of Northern Iowa from 1986-1989 where he was a two-time All-American. He never lost a collegiate dual meet, putting up a 58-0-3 record during his career as a Panther. Greenlee’s 127-16-4 career record gives him the best career winning percentage (minimum of 50 wins) in program history (.878). A state champion for Waverly-Shell Rock High School in 1985 at 185 pounds, Greenlee is the current head wrestling coach at Ohio University.

Al Nacin was Iowa State’s first four-time All-American in wrestling. He placed second at the 1971 NCAA tournament as a freshman followed by finishes of fifth and third in 1973 and 1974. Nacin won the 190 pound weight class at the 1975 NCAA tournament as a senior. He was also a three-time Big Eight champion. A native of Burbank, Ill., Nacin won the 175-pound Illinois state prep title for Reavis High School in 1970.

Mack Reiter wrestled for Gilbertville-Don Bosco and was the 13th person to win four Iowa high school state wrestling championships (2000-03). His career high school record was 182-3 with 135 pins. Reiter was a three-time All-American for the University of Minnesota, placing fourth at the NCAA wrestling tournament as a freshman and as a sophomore (2005-06), and fifth as a senior (2008). He also won an individual Big Ten title in 2005.

Finn Eriksen wrestled for the University of Northern Iowa (then known as Iowa State Teachers College) before becoming one of the most successful high school wrestling coaches in the state of Iowa. He led New Hampton to a state team title in 1933 before accepting a teaching and coaching position at West Waterloo. Eriksen led the Wahawks to state team championships in 1942 and 1943. Eriksen died on August 8, 1992.

Three other special awards will be given during the Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa.

The Gibbons family will receive the Family Legacy Award. Bill and Bea Gibbons had four sons—Jim, Joe, Jeff, and Tim—who wrestled. Their oldest son, Jim, was a three-time state wrestling champion for Ames High School (1975-77). He was a three-time All-American (1980-82) for Iowa State, which included an individual NCAA championship in 1981. Jim was the head wrestling coach at Iowa State from 1986 through 1992. He coached the Cyclones to an NCAA team title in 1987.

Joe was a four-time Iowa high school state wrestling champion and an NCAA champion (1985) for Iowa State. He won two state championship for Waterloo Columbus (1978-79) and two for Ames (1980-81). Joe was also a four-time All-American (1982, 1984-86) for the Cyclones.
Jim and Joe are members of the Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa.

Jeff was a state champion for Ames High School in 1983 and 1984, and a second place finisher in 1982. He was a two-time All-American for Iowa State, placing third at the 1987 NCAA tournament and sixth at the 1988 NCAA tournament. Tim was a state champion for Ames in 1976. He wrestled at Iowa State for one season before becoming a doctor of veterinary medicine.

Chris Krueger will receive the Bob Siddens High School Coaching Excellence Award. The award is given to an Iowa high school wrestling coach who exhibits the high standards that Bob Siddens set during his legendary coaching career. Siddens coached West Waterloo to 11 state team titles and a 327-26 dual meet record.

Krueger has been the head wrestling coach at Denver-Tripoli since 2000.
He has led the Cyclones to 2A state championships in 2010 and 2012, and a state dual team title in 2010. His teams were runners-up at the traditional state tournament in 2009 and 2011. Over the past six seasons Denver-Tripoli has had 21 state finalists and 12 state champions. Included in that list are three four-time state finalists: Dylan Peters (2-1-1-1), Brandon Sorenson (1-1-1-1), and Levi Wolfesperger (2-2-1-1).

Steve and Linda Wachal will receive the Russ Smith Community Impact Award. The award is given to individuals demonstrating exceptional local impact on wrestling within the state of Iowa.

The Wachals are board members for the Iowa Wrestling Federation (USA Wrestling-Iowa) and were the editors of the Iowa Wrestling Federation Newsletter. They have also served as tournament directors for USA Wrestling regional and national events. In addition to their work as directors, Steve has served as a USA Wrestling official while Linda has been a pairer.

A banquet honoring all inductees and award winners will be held at the Five Sullivan Brothers Convention Center in Waterloo on Saturday, June 7. For more information contact the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum at (319) 233-0745 or

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum is a not-for-profit organization based out of Waterloo, Iowa. The mission of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame is to preserve history, recognize excellence, and inspire future generations.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2019 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.